The Visits

Hi again, 

2 things I want to write about in this blog.  My daughter’s big sister visiting, and the facilitator of the New School of Colour visiting. Little note as a reminder. 

So yeah, my eldest daughters (and sons) big sister came to London on Tuesday.  That was awesome. She is my exes eldest daughter from a previous relationship.  Anyways, we tried to arrange her visit so that could drop in on my exes visit at the CAS building. But it didn’t work out that way. However, she got to see her father, and her sister. She has yet to see her little brother.  

She said her visit with her father was “interesting ” to say the least.  I guess my ex kept asking her about her mother, and babbling on about things that didn’t make sense to his eldest daughter. Not to mention that he told her that he met her before, yet hasn’t been involved with her life at all. So yeah, glad she sees for herself that he will believe his own delusions, and that he is legit mentally unstable. 

I appreciate that her and her boyfriend chose thier words carefully around my eldest daughter when speaking of thier experience with the ex .  Little ears. My daughter  is still kinda young to understand the whole situation. 

Anyways, after she dropped her dad off, she came to my home to visit my eldest daughter, her sister. It was thier first time meeting, and I’m glad to be the one that connected the two.  Actually it was the eldest daughter of my ex that looked me up on Facebook and reached out to me. But I’m glad she did. They wouldn’t have met through thier father. And I’m glad to be the one that connects my eldest daughter and son to thier family members.  I feel the more support they have, the better. 

Anyways,  there was another person that came by for a visit later on in the week. The current facilitator of the New School of Colour.  He came by to buy an art piece I did years ago. It was good to catch up with a fellow art friend. 

I was surprised that he was willing to give me bus fare just so I can make it back to the New School of Colour. So I  will take my 2 daughters next Wednesday, and see how that goes. I doubt I will get any art done myself, but maybe my eldest daughter might benefit from the experience.

I was told that Carol died last year. She was a sweet New School of Colour member that always complimented me and my work. She was always happy to see me there. I would have never guessed that she was dying of luikemia. I was saddened by this news. Just as I  was sad to hear the recent passing of Samm Dodge. Another New School of Colour artist. She died of a stroke. In a place as magical as the New School of Colour, you think that the people there will always be there when you return. But that isn’t so. Death is inevitable for everyone.  So yeah, I will miss those two, and the light and laughter thier spirits brought to the group. May they both rest in peace. 

Anyways, thank the current facilitator for stopping by. It sounds like the New School of Colour is doing very well, booking lots of art shows and whatnot. Congrats to all the artists! 

He said that the past facilitator completely resigned, I guess the current facilitator thought it would only be temporary, but the past facilitator has no time for the New School of Colour. Big mistake if you ask me. To give away something that actually improves and benefits the lives of others. It actually worked when it comes to the supposed social barriers, it brings people together despite what class or background each individual may have. And you toss it away like garbage?  But whatever. At least the Executive Director of the Ark Aid Street Mission and the current facilitator of the New School of Colour realize the impact and value that it has on others to continue on. That is pretty admirable and selfless of them, putting the needs of others before themselves. So kudos to them. 👏

In other news…it sounds as though my time in London may be ticking. My partner brought forth another possible future plan, which is to save up and move to Alberta. That would be a nice change.  We’ll see. I  still am not leaving without my son.  And saving up for this could take years. We’re struggling as is just to pay off debts. 

I visit my son weekly now, and it seems like he still wants to live with his father when all is said and done. However, both myself and his grandmother ( the exes mother) are concerned that all of Vaniers hard work will just go flying out the window again, and things will go back to the way they were. Problems with schools, video games, and sleeping all day. My son is doing extremely well at Vanier, he even runs and does yoga. He’s a lot healthier, and it would be a shame to have all Vaniers efforts go to waste again if he gets placed back in the care of his father. Just saying. 

Thanks to my exes mothers encouragement, she believes I should keep art in my life, as it comes from the soul. Even my mom said that…matter of fact she said I should focus on my art, not Scentsy. Lol

I did get a start on my photography book. But it’s going to take some time to complete. I plan to call it; “My Gift to London”. 

I also need to finish some touch ups on my Twitter Art Exhibit piece, print off a form to fill out, and mail it to the U.K before March. It will get done!

Which reminds me, the art piece I  did was based on some discrimination I experienced online from Londoners. Since Donald Trump wants to ban immigration in the United States, Justin Trudeau ( our Prime Minister) and Matt Brown ( the mayor of London) are saying things like Canada is a country proud of its diversity. Even Londoners hopped on that train preaching equality. But I’m skeptical after what I experienced.  It’s one thing to say it, it’s another to do it. Actions speak louder than words. Too many people just say things to “look” good. So yeah, I’ll believe it when I see it. So much needs to change, including what all organizations and institutions teach. Not just the local police department.  

That’s enough for today. Thanks for reading! Peace and love- Pooks

The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking. – Albert Einstein 

 

Leave a Reply

